Keefe Technical School Logo

Curriculum & Events

Save the Dates - School Counseling Night Events!


Junior College Planning Night - Thursday, February 7, 2019 - 6PM - 8PM

 
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Oct 28
B-5
Tue, Oct 30
FSU Return
-
Wed, Oct 31
ASVAB
-
UMaine Cafe Visit
-
Thu, Nov 1
Fri, Nov 2
Sat, Nov 3
Sun, Nov 11
B-5
Tue, Nov 13
B5
Wed, Nov 14
MetroWest Health Survey
-
Thu, Nov 15
Sat, Nov 17
Tue, Nov 27
Wed, Nov 28
Thu, Nov 29
Fri, Nov 30
Sat, Dec 1

School Counseling Curriculum

Grade 9 Curriculum Overview

Counselors in the Classroom:

  • Early College Awareness
  • Career Exploration & Interest Inventory
    • Create account on Naviance
  • Selecting Career & Technical Program
    • End of January

Individual Counselor Meetings:

  • Initial student/counselor meetings (ongoing during fall of freshman year)
  • Course changes
  • Course selection for next school year
  • Personal issue
  • School related issue
  • Change in performance

Thinking Ahead! 

Grade 10: Transition to Career & Technical Programs

Grade 11: PSAT, College Planning Night, Dual Enrollment Opportunities at Framingham State and Mass Bay, Cooperative Education

Grade 12: Apply to college, apply for financial aid (FAFSA), apply for scholarships, update resume and cover letter, Cooperative Education - potential job placement

 

Grade 10 Curriculum Overview

Counselors Student Focus:

  • Social/Emotional
    • Depression Curriculum - December
  • Academic and Technical Success
    • Career paths and CTE Program - Fall
    • MCAS Prep and Motivation - Spring

Individual Counselor Meetings:

  • Course changes
  • Course selection for next school year
  • Personal issue
  • School related issue
  • Change in performance

Thinking Ahead! 

Grade 11: PSAT, College Planning Night, Dual Enrollment Opportunities at Framingham State and Mass Bay, Cooperative Education

Grade 12: Apply to college, apply for financial aid (FAFSA), apply for scholarships, update resume and cover letter, Cooperative Education - potential job placement

 

Grade 11 Curriculum Overview

Counselors in the Classroom:

  • Understanding PSAT results - PSAT, October 10th!
  • Junior College Planning - Thursday, February 7, 2019
  • College and Career Planning - Using Naviance

Individual Counselor Meetings:

  • Course changes
  • Course selection for next school year
  • Personal issue
  • School related issue
  • Change in performance
  • Dual Enrollment opportunities
  • Cooperative education / Internship opportunities

Thinking Ahead! 

Winter/Spring: Take an SAT Prep - We offer Math and Verbal Prep Classes at Keefe from February - May, more information will be sent home, think about taking a Dual Enrollment course at Framingham State or MassBay 

Spring: Take the SAT and/or ACT in May or June 

Grade 12: Apply to college, apply for financial aid (FAFSA), apply for scholarships, update resume and cover letter, Cooperative Education - potential job placement

Grade 12 Currciulum Overview

Counselors in the Classroom:

  • Using Google Classroom for College Planning
  • College Workshops - Naviance and Common Application
  • Scholarship Workshop
  • Career Planning Workshops - Resumes, cover letters, applications
  • Stress Management

Individual Counselor Meetings:

  • Course changes
  • College and Career Planning
  • Personal issue
  • School related issue
  • Change in performance

Important Events:

Financial Aid Workshop - Thursday, November 8, 2018

College Decision Day - May 1, 2019 (students planning to attend college in the fall of 2019 need to have their deposit in by this day to hold their space)

Senior Awards Night - Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 6:30PM

Graduation Rehearsal - Friday, May 31, 2019 

Graduation - Saturday, June 1, 2019

Life After Keefe Tech!

Our goal is for all of our seniors to graduate Keefe Tech with the skills and knowledge needed to continue to work towards their career goals and be successful lifelong learners.  All students are encouraged to take a respectful next step into their future  and the School Counseling at Keefe Tech is here to help them get there!